img-name-mising

Ladres Basin

Historic site and monument in Ax-les-Thermes
  • Come and discover the oldest basin in the city

  • Until the middle of the 18th century, the Ax thermal spa or “Barry des Bains” was concentrated around the Bassin des Ladres, with the ovens on one side and the cannons on the other.

    In 1241, probably to compensate for the damage of a fire, the Count of Foix granted large tax privileges to Ax.
    It only became more popular and space between the walls became scarce.
    The waters of Ax in free use were used to wash the wool, to boil the pig, to make the soup, to cure.
    The quarters of the ovens...
    Until the middle of the 18th century, the Ax thermal spa or “Barry des Bains” was concentrated around the Bassin des Ladres, with the ovens on one side and the cannons on the other.

    In 1241, probably to compensate for the damage of a fire, the Count of Foix granted large tax privileges to Ax.
    It only became more popular and space between the walls became scarce.
    The waters of Ax in free use were used to wash the wool, to boil the pig, to make the soup, to cure.
    The quarters of the ovens were not of good reputation: beggars, acrobats and maidens held the top of the Pavé there.

    Founded in 1260 by Count Roger IV of Foix at the request of Saint Louis, the Ax hospital accommodated, among other things, soldiers who had returned with leprosy from the Crusades.
    The basin still bears the name of Ladres or "Leper".
    It has been classified as a historical monument since 1979.
  • Spoken languages
    • French
  • Accepted customers
    • Individuals
    • Groups
  • Rates
  • Other
    Free